The Five Stages of Andrew Brawley

Shaun David Hutchinson

Ever since a family tragedy he blames himself for, Andrew lives like a ghost in the unfinished and abandoned wing of the hospital. Pretending to be a volunteer, he’s made himself blend in. His life is caring for his friends, two teens fighting cancer. The staff knows and likes or at least tolerates him. His life is fine in here, always in here, feeling like he will always be in here. Then, one night, he hears the pained screams of a boy who was set on fire. Someone in as much pain as he feels inside. This is an intense and dark but ultimately hopeful and beautiful story.


This book has neat comic inserts, and with its abstract and surreal ways of dealing with tragedy is a definite for fans of Andrew Smith.

Page Count 297
Part of a Series? No
Age Level 13 — up

This book is . . .